AFRIFF 2017 full list of winners

The Africa International Film Festival (AFRIFF) 2017 finally comes to a rewarding end at the Prestigious Eko Hotel and Suites, after several days of screening, training, panel discussions and many more intriguing activities.

The event kicked off on October 29th with the films:  Waiting for Hassana (Short) – Ifunanya ‘funa’ Maduka (Nigeria/US) and  I am not a witch – Rungano Nyoni (UK/France/Zambia) and closed on November 4th with the film  Felicité – Alain Gomis (France/Senegal).

It was a star studded festival, graced with several African stars who didn’t relent in bringing a colourful and memorable feel to the super event.

The jury finally unveiled the winners of this year’s festival after much scrutiny.

See full list of winners for AFRIFF 2017:


Best Actor

Ibrahim Koma in Wulu (Mali)

Best Actress

Lydia Forson in Keteke (Ghana)

Special Jury Mention

Alter Ego (Nigeria)

Oronto Douglas Award for Best Nigerian Film

Hakkunde (Nigeria)

Best Screenplay

Dauda Coulibali – Wulu (Mali)

Best Director

Alain Gomis in Felicité (Senegal)

Audience Choice Award

The Lost Café by Kenneth Gyang (Nigeria)

Best Student Short Film

The Fall (South Africa)

Best Short Film

1745 (UK)

Best Animation
Huse Met Lang Ore (South Africa)

Best Documentary

We Have Never Been Kids (Egypt)

Best Feature Film

I Am Not a Witch (Zambia/UK)

Best French Language Film

 Wulu (Mali)


See photos from the event:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.