Africa’s most glamorous film market and festival finally comes to a wrap, after an eventful ten days festival full of energy, talents, creativity, recognition and connaissance. The Cape Town International Film Market & Festival (CTIFM&F) held at the Westin Hotel and was hosted by Pearl Thusi and Maps Maponyane.

Jury members from all around globe have put in a collaborative effort and after much scrutiny, full list of winners for this year’s CTIFM&F was announced at the red carpet event.

The winner of this year’s prize, worth $20 000 and sponsored by the Moving Billboard Company, is Nathan Theys for the project Ronald. The runner-up prize, also sponsored by the Moving Billboard Company, and worth $10,000, was awarded to Brett Michael Innes for Callus.


South African Short Film honourable mentions

Jaap – Ian Morgan

Post – Jesse Brown

Best Short Film

Intergalactic Samurai – Hagar Ben-Asher

Best Actor

Pankaj Tripathi as Salim in Mango Dreams

Best Actress

Antoinette Louw as Molly Fischer in An Act of Defiance

Best Script

Jean van der Velde for An Act of Defiance

Best Editing

Mustafa Presheva for Ayla: The Daughter of War

Best Cinematography

Massimo Moschin for The Last Prosecco

Best Documentary Film

Hana by Giuseppe Carrieri

Special Mention Award in the Best LGBT Film category

KA Bodyscapes by Jayan K Cherian

Best LGBT Film

Heartstone by Guðmundur Arnar Guðmundsson

Best South African Feature Film

Catching Feelings by Kagiso Lediga.

accolated of New Director

Manouj Kadaamh for Horizon

the accolade of Best Director

Visa Koiso-Kantilla for Star Boys

Grand Prix Award

Kivanç Sezer for My Father’s Wings.

Best Feature Film Award

Kivanc Sezer




Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.